Bringing back the past – musical style


Alright – so last week , we presented our “Moment our life changed” homework assignment. To be honest – when we first got the assignment, I wasn’t sure what the purpose of the whole thing was. Practice illustrating a narrative, probably?

But anyways, half way during presentations I could see where Prof. Green was taking this. During some of the presentations, he would direct questions to us as to where this experience could lead us, or elaborate how it is that it got us to where we are today. So it was really another one of his “get to know us” exercises, but in the sense so that he could guide us. In fact…

This can’t just be me , but…
What happened to David Green? It’s the same ol’ David Green we all love – personality wise, but his teaching ethics/methods have completely 180’ed. I mean, first he announces that he’s actually going to mark our work on time, and now he’s trying to reform us for the better with his assignments? I mean, in class, he even seemed to be more than happy to go out of his way to make sure we succeeded with whatever our goals were for carving a potential career out of our interests. Wow!

Change Machine. by Streeter, Betsy

Well anyways, that’s a slightly off topic, and maybe even a little awkward ; talking about David Green in 3rd person when the very reason I’m typing out this blog post in the first place is so that David Green himself can read it…
Plus, I don’t know – maybe it is just me.

Back on topic – if you’ve read my last post, you’d see that the moment my life changed was when I picked up music professionally. And boy, did it change things a lot. But now, it just seems such the large waste that I’m not doing anything with all the skills I now have. There was a time when I uploaded videos of my performances on YouTube, but it was quite the long time ago. I can’t remember why I stopped…
But check this video out!

That’s a video I uploaded 3 years ago, shot with a crappy Sony digital camera (meant to take pictures), no tripod (i put the camera on the piano so there was a vibration on many of the notes – on top of the already poor sound capture), and  dreadful lighting in which you can hardly see anything.
But despite all those technical short comings, 70 000+ views! I wasn’t even aware this whole time.

But to cut to the chase since this post is starting to get really long – What I want to do is make more of these:

But first – I need to get myself a keyboard or some equivalent  so that I can play multiple instruments and play a wider range of songs. Besides, why not, since I know I’m capable. So yeah – that’s what I’m going to work on for next week – getting that keyboard! Let’s go 1000 subscribers! =P

Leave a Reply

