Futuristic Game of Sorts?


Alright -so I’ve had this concept in my mind for a while now, of a game or similar environment/setting that would be competitive and collaborative at the same time.

The idea where you have a Multiplayer Online game that is available on anything that functions as a computer , so a mobile, iPad, Tablet. That way it can be accessed by anyone and anytime.
What the game will be is a series of difficult puzzles, riddles , etc.  – anything that involves a large amount of collective thoughts and steps to complete. It’ll be in some sort of digital realm of whatever appropriate setting (a school, arena or whatever). You’ll have different instances/overflows so that you can have say, a max of 200 people in one instance and move the next 200 to another instance, although they’ll be able to spectate another instance if they want.
However instead of just having a persistent world that is only online on the internet, you have the game relay the digital data to a physical space that either projects or in some way, have a physical representation what the players are doing and how well they’re progressing/performing. This will be in an installation setting.

Okay so there are some obvious obstacles here. First off – I haven’t fully conceptualized the whole “game” part of this yet.  I mean, I said “a series of difficult puzzles, riddles , etc” but that’s pretty broad and vague.  In fact, just saying that sounds a little familiar. Hmmm… Oh god, Puzzle Pirates.

Plus, just saying “anything that involves a large amount of collective thoughts and steps to complete” doesn’t help clarify things either.  The structure of my idea is similar to that of something I’ve seen online though.  Word Squared (aka Word2) https://olzme.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/wordsquared-3.png?w=300
Check out how large it’s become!

But some major differences is that I want mine to be objective based, so based on a “level” type method.
What I’ll do for next week’s entry is to draw up some mind maps, charts and basically brainstorm it all out. Or do it digitally – who actually writes stuff anymore?

But yeah.  I really want to see this get developed. Sure, there’s no way this is going to become a reality any time soon, but working on it seems (and really, it is) fun.
A better use of my time than looking around at puzzle books which may or may NOT lead me anywhere at all.  =P

Edit: Hang on a second… Is it just me, or is there a strange coincidence of the reoccurring “puzzle” theme?
I swear to GOD I did not plan this whole thing from the very beginning.
David Green, if you’re reading this (and I really DO hope you’re actually reading all this and not just skimming though it all…), please tell me it’s not just me…

Leave a Reply

